Tuesday, 25 April 2017

Review: Unfinished Night The Complete Duet by Violet Duke

****4 Stars****

Book 1: Before That Night 

This is a short novella that introduces the main characters Addison and Caine along with Addisons siblings Tanner and Kylie. I really enjoyed this book that had me pulled into Addison’s situation from the offset and praying that she found a way out from the plight she is in. 

Addison is naïve in some ways but given her background is also quite mature for her age and savvy when it comes to protecting her brother and sister. We find Addison in dire straits, homeless after her drug addict mother has bailed on them all but Addison is determined to keep them together and sets out to do just that. 

She meets Caine a grufty cop while working at the diner and their attraction to each other is immediate but not something they act on. When a situation with an infatuated customer puts her in danger and at risk of losing her siblings Caine steps in to help. I loved the tension between these two and was hoping that they would finally get together only for the author to leave us hanging and thankful that I am reading this as a complete duet so straight on to the next part of their story. 

Book 2: Every Night Without You 

We catch up with Caine and Addison seven year after THAT night and find Caine bereft at losing his chance at happiness in the name of honour and duty. We find Addison doing great on a professional level and still looking after her sibling’s best interests. 

A chance encounter sees her and Caine come back into each other’s lives and I was thinking finally they can get things sorted but once again they put responsibility before their own happiness. However, Caine isn’t going to lose another seven years and finds ways to see Addison. 
Things quickly step up in many ways and this is an action packed read with many parts of Addisons life finally catching up with her but will she make the right decisions this time around? 

Overall this is a great read with plenty of enjoyable characters that has a lovely love story at its core and plenty of action to keep you turning the pages. It’s a brilliant opener to the Unfinished Love series that I am looking forward to reading more of. 

Reviewed by Vikki Ryan 


Before that night, Addison Milan had been just a college dropout secretly raising her two young siblings in a beat-up minivan she'd bought with her first semester's tuition refund--the only money her addict mother hadn't taken off with when she'd abandoned them nearly two years ago.

Before that night, Caine Spencer had been just a rough, gruff cop sent to check out the phoned-in claims of suspected child neglect involving the same woman he'd met just months prior when she'd first served him the city's worst diner coffee...which he'd been drinking daily ever since.

Before that night, Addison would never have thought the man she'd been fighting hard not to fall for--her only friend in her new shadow of a life--would be in a position to rip her family apart.

Before that night, Caine would never have believed any woman could make him fall head over heels, let alone make him feel so damn compelled to look the other way when it came to his job.

Then that one perfect night changed everything.


Seven years.

Seven damn years of wondering whether the woman was still alive...whether she'd spent the last two thousand five hundred fifty-five days wondering if he was still alive.

Wondering whether that night was as burned into her memory as it was his.

Seven years having his heart tethered to Addison and now she's back. With even more reasons to run than she'd had then.

Only this time, Caine isn't letting the gorgeous little flight risk out of his sight.

Regardless of how noble her reasons may be.

Note: Each of the 4 couples in the UNFINISHED LOVE series have 2 books (duets) w/ separate storylines that take place years apart. This is Caine & Addison's complete duet.

No comments:

Post a Comment